First Oriole

This morning (May 21, 2013) I saw an oriole for the first time that I could confirm. I heard him first in a tree near the Passaic train station. At first I thought it was a mockingbird because I did not recognize the song, then when he did not change the pattern of the song I began to realize that it probably was not a mockingbird. After about a minute I saw a flash of bright orange high in the tree and I knew that this was no mockingbird. He flew out of sight and earshot after about two minutes. I hope he wasn’t just migrating through the area and that he might actually be looking to nest nearby.

Leave a Reply

