A Hummingbird, or I Could Kick Myself

This afternoon I stood at the kitchen window looking outside for a few minutes. A blur of iridescent green appeared momentarily and then disappeared. I am fairly certain it was a ruby-throated hummingbird. What a treat to see that bird in our backyard, even if only for a second.

Now for the “I Could Kick Myself” part: I believe he was checking out our red sunflower seed tube. Because we are planning to move, and for additional reasons that I would not divulge in this space, I have not put a hummingbird feeder out this year. We actually have two now, and last month would have been the time to put them out. That was surely short sighted.

Leave a Reply

