Goals and Transitions

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “To Be Resolved.”

At the beginning of 2014 I set a goal of posting to this blog once a week and sending out one piece of hand-written correspondence each week. In the blog I wrote mostly about creatures and natural phenomena that I observed in and around our former home in Passaic. I did OK in meeting the goal until the fall, when it became clear that we were leaving that home for a new one with a new backyard.

Handwritten correspondence is a bit more of a challenge. Aside from thank-you notes, birthday cards, and sympathy cards, I don’t have much occasion for working in that medium. I write enough Christmas cards to cover about five months, but I don’t count them. Nonetheless I did OK, but on a letter-grade scale I probably did no better than a C–. 

A new backyard and neighborhood will provide opportunities for blogging. For example, I discovered just this weekend that a pair of birds built a nest this past spring in the small ball-shaped tree in the front of our new home. We also have a rabbit living under our shed whom my brother has named Harvey.

Having turned the calendar pages past the Solstice, and approaching the beginning of 2015, it’s appropriate to think about new things, the return to days that grow longer rather than shorter, and the promise of a new growing season. Celebrating the birth of Jesus, and looking forward to His return to make all things new, puts the hope and expectation of renewal in a different and very bright light. The coming months will bring challenges and disappointments but also moments of beauty, grace, and mercy that come only from the One who made it all and from the family, friends, and even strangers whom that One has sent our way.

Thank you for your patience, dear reader. I look forward to hearing from you in the coming weeks and months. Meanwhile, my best wishes for a peaceful and contended Christmas and New Year go out to you today.

Leave a Reply

